Read Reviews, Buy the Album or Download the Album for free

Roy C. – 1973 – Sex And Soul

Read Reviews, Buy the Album or Download the Album for free

The first in a trio of Roy C. albums released by Mercury in the mid 1970s.

Sex And Soul is a brilliant, often underappreciated, collection of the purest of southern soul music. Hammond’s great songwriting skills and timeless arrangements combine to form an album that is an absolute must-have for true fans of the genre.

A deep soul classic!

A1 Don’t Blame The Man 3:15
A2 Got To Get Enough (Of Your Sweet Love Stuff) 2:46
A3 I’m Falling In Love Again 4:09
A4 I Found A Man In My Bed 2:38
A5 Those Days Are Gone 3:03
A6 She Kept On Walkin’ 3:29
B1 I Wasn’t There (But I Can Feel The Pain)3:29
B2 I’m Gonna Love Sombody Else’s Woman (Somebody’s Lovin’ Mine) 3:10
B3 I’ll Never Leave You Lonely 3:33
B4 Open Letter To The President 3:09
B5 I’m Bustin’ My Rocks (Working On The Chain Gang) 2:32
B6 Back Into My Arms 3:03

Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Sex & Soul was the first album of pure funky soul that Roy C recorded in the early ’70s. Sounding like a cross between the deep soul of Otis Redding and the smooth production of early-’70s soul, Roy C sings with grit and passion, investing these songs with true soul. None of the songs are below par, and some are forgotten gems, such as the singles “Got to Get Enough (Of Your Sweet Love Stuff)” and “Don’t Blame the Man“.

All of the songs are delivered with fiery conviction from Mr. C, making it one of the most underrated soul albums of the early ’70s. Collectables’ reissue makes it even better by adding the singles “If I Could Love You Forever” and “Loneliness Has Got a Hold On Me“.

Sex, soul, and lots more too – a sublime solo set from the great Roy C Hammond – recorded after his initial work with The Honeydrippers! The approach here is much more deep soul than his work with that group – very much in the best sort of Fame or Hi Records vibe – with a slow-burning sound that’s a nice evolution past the earliest modes of southern soul, and which is perfectly suited to the sophistication of Roy’s vocals!

The set was the first in Hammond’s solo run for Mercury Records – almost ignored at the time, but later the stuff of legend – thanks to writers like Peter Guaralnick, and others who’ve finally given Roy his due. The arrangements and instrumentation are wonderful – much more indie soul than you’d expect – on a par with the best early 70s material on Stax/Volt.

Biography by Andrew Hamilton

Roy Hammond, from Long Beach, Long Island, sang lead for the Genies, who hit lightly with “Who’s That Knocking” in 1958 (number 72 pop); three more Genies singles and the group disbanded, but Roy was just getting started. He went on to cut an additional single as Roy Hammond & the Genies (“Mama Blow Your Top” on Forum Records), then 32 solo shots as Roy-C and one as Little Frankie on labels including Smash, Black Hawk, Shout, Alaga, Mercury, and 3 Gems. He also has accumulated a legacy of 13 albums, plus a compilation on Sequel. What’s so amazing about his output is that from 1958 to 1998, the year of his last-known album, he’s only hit the chart twice: the lowly Genies hit and “Shotgun Wedding” in 1965 on Black Hawk (the latter nested at number 14 R&B). No other Roy-C recording ever made a national chart.

Sex & Soul [Collectables] His first album was That Shotgun Wedding Man (1966) on Ember Records. The Mercury albums are Sex & Soul (1973), Something Nice (1975), and More Sex & More Soul (1977). The first 3 Gems LP, I Want to Be Where You Are (All Night Long), surfaced in 1984 and the last, Stella Lost Her Groove Again, in 1998.

Roy composed most of his recordings and has more than 125 titles to his credit. He recorded an album by ex-Temptation Dennis Edwards entitled Talk to Me, and also worked on a CD on Bobby Stringer. Shaggy sampled his “Love Me, Love Me” on the soundtrack of Stella Got Her Groove Back.