Read Reviews, Buy the Album or Download the Album for free

Al Wilson ‎- 1973 – Weighing In

Read Reviews, Buy the Album or Download the Album for free

Al Wilson weighs in with another 70s classic, a set that’s poised nicely between the audacious soul of “The Snake“, and some of the mellower moments of cuts like “Show & Tell“! Neither of those hits are on here, but that’s a good thing – because the under-discovered set offers up a fresh take on the Al Wilson sound, one that shows that he’s got way more to offer than just a few key hits – and that Wilson was really going strong, no matter what the setting.

There’s a few especially nice tracks here  like the cut “The Magic Of Your Mind“, a mellow groover with production by Leon Ware and “Keep On Loving You“, with production by Ugene Dozier.  

A1 Born on the Bayou 2:53
A2 Somebody to Love 3:19
A3 Settle Me Down 2:43
A4 Things Are Changing 2:43
A5 All for You 2:38
A6 Listen to Me 3:12
B1 The Last Photograph Record 2:38
B2 You Do the Right Things 2:44
B3 The Magic of Your Mind 2:37
B4 Amen Brother 2:25
B5 Keep On Loving You 4:23
B6 Quick Reaction 3:21

Best remembered for the number one pop hit “Show and Tell“, soul singer Al Wilson was born June 19, 1939 in Meridian, Mississippi. From childhood forward he was singing professionally, and by the age of 12 was leading his own spiritual quartet and singing in the church choir, even performing covers of country & western hits as circumstances dictated. While he was in high school, Wilson and his family relocated to San Bernardino, California, where he worked odd jobs as a mail carrier, a janitor, and an office clerk, in addition to teaching himself to play drums.

After graduation he spent four years touring with Johnny Harris & the Statesmen before joining the U.S. Navy and singing with an enlisted men’s chorus. After a two-year military stint, Wilson settled in Los Angeles, touring the local nightclub circuit before joining the R&B vocal group the Jewels; from there he landed with the Rollers, followed by a stint with the instrumental combo the Souls.

In 1966, Wilson signed with manager Marc Gordon, who quickly scored his client an a cappella audition for Johnny Rivers. The “Secret Agent Man” singer not only signed Wilson to his Soul City imprint, but also agreed to produce the sessions that yielded the 1968 R&B smash “The Snake“. The minor hit “Do What You Gotta Do” appeared that same year, but Wilson then largely disappeared from sight until 1973, when he issued the platinum selling Weighing In  the album’s success was spurred by the shimmering “Show and Tell” a Johnny Mathis castoff that sold well over a million copies.

The La La Peace Song” released in 1974, proved another major hit, and two years later, “I’ve Got a Feeling We’ll Be Seeing Each Other Again” peaked at number three on the R&B chart. With 1979’s “Count the Days” Wilson scored his final chart hit, however, and he spent the next two decades touring clubs and lounges. In 2001 he re-recorded his classic hits for the album Spice of Life. Kidney failure took his life on April 21, 2008.

Finally Get theree more Al Wilson albums in our back pages here